The End of the World?

_80_140_Book_893_coverAnomaly by Krista McGee
Review copy provided by: BookSneeze at BookSneeze.com

Anomaly is fiction. The story begins many years after a nuclear war has destroyed the earth’s surface. Only ten scientists survived because they had been in the process of creating a safe haven for the VIPs of the government. During the years prior to this story’s beginning, these scientists worked with DNA as a writer might cut and paste various paragraphs together to make a book or magazine article. They created untold numbers of clones. Each clone was given a special talent to make their underground world a perfect place. Every clone was created without emotions which the scientists said caused all the wars. Religion was taught to be a bad imaginary concept and the clones were forbidden to practice any form of it. If a clone revealed any emotion whatsoever, he or she were labeled an anomaly and were brought to the scientists building to be annihilated. This story tells the story of one clone who was given a wonderful expert ability with music—playing any kind of instrument and creating songs. Thalli develops emotions as the story is told. We experience her ups and downs, her fears and joys, all the way to a satisfying end.

Stories of what life would be like after a nuclear holocaust are not new, but this one is certainly different than any I have read before or watched on television. Just when I thought I had a hold on what exactly was happening, the story took a surprising turn—sometimes for the better, sometimes for the worse. At one point I nearly cried, at another I laughed a little, and still at another I thought, ‘I should have known…’. I believe the teenager of today will enjoy this book and may even be able to empathize with the heroine. I also believe the older generation from young adult to the elderly who can still see enough to read will enjoy it. On the serious side, the story makes one think of what will really happen if the earth’s surface is destroyed in a nuclear war.

About lprobinson64

I have been writing short stories for 25 years and am now working on my first novel. Besides writing, I love to read a great variety of genres with crime/mystery/fantasy being at the top. Dean Koontz is my favorite author, but there are so many more I can't list them all. I also like to crochet, sew, and do many kinds of crafts. Being a retired school teacher sure helps me find the time for all my favorite activities. Can't understand why people don't like retirement. It is a good time to follow a new dream.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

