Thursday, Aug 25th BlogHop Question: Do you have a secret muse…?

Thursday, Aug 25th 2011: 
QUESTION: Do you have a secret ‘muse’ or ‘inspiration’, one which you would be a little embarrassed about admitting when interviewed about your book (or future book!) or that you feel may affect people’s perception of your book? Question provided by affiliate author David M. Brown

 

I’m not sure I would call it a muse. Ideas flow into me like water from a faucet. All I have to do is see anything, hear anything, read anything. If I stop and think about what I see, hear, read, then I’ll get so many ideas I don’t even try to write them down. If this is a muse’s work on my behalf, then she/he needs to introduce his/herself to me. Only then, can we be able to work together and I give that being what it deserves in respect and honor.

Sometimes a complete short story will come to me and I’ll sit down and write it as fast as I can. Sometime or some day later, I’ll re-read it and see what I can do toward polishing it. I’ve heard so much about short stories not being popular anymore that I seldom rack my brains or my internet browser to find a market for it.

Mostly I would rather have an idea come to me and me sit down to write on it, than to wait for characters to bludgeon their way into my consciousness and demand to be written into a story. For some reason, characters don’t come to me like that.

I’ve tried sitting down with my book The Weekend Novelist and plan a book, but can’t. I can brainstorm ideas, crimes, troubles, good events, characters, settings, and everything else having to do with writing a novel or short story, but these things are just that: brainstorming lists having no members that come together in my mind into one story.

Do I have a secret muse? I wonder…

About lprobinson64

I have been writing short stories for 25 years and am now working on my first novel. Besides writing, I love to read a great variety of genres with crime/mystery/fantasy being at the top. Dean Koontz is my favorite author, but there are so many more I can't list them all. I also like to crochet, sew, and do many kinds of crafts. Being a retired school teacher sure helps me find the time for all my favorite activities. Can't understand why people don't like retirement. It is a good time to follow a new dream.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thursday, Aug 25th BlogHop Question: Do you have a secret muse…?

  1. elenchera says:

    It’s a shame about your short stories as I know a lot of people (myself included) who still love short stories and anthologies. Have you thought about just putting them on Smashwords or similar? I’m sure they would be much enjoyed!

  2. Megan Johns says:

    You’ve obviously got a very fertile imagination, Lu

  3. Have you tried the ePublishers for your stories? I’ve sold 4 of mine already this year. You might give them a try!

    Thanks for visiting my site!

Leave a Reply

