How much of Your writing is gone after a publisher/editor critiques for you?

I’ve heard a lot of noise about publishers and editors knowing what sells and what don’t sell. My question is this: who is writing the story  you or the publisher/editor? Don’t anyone see that when the writer changes their story to suit the publisher/editor that the story no longer is theirs? Sure I know what you’re going to say:  But they know what sells and I want to sell my stories. OR You can’t get published without changing what they want you to change.

All of this may be true and I have done a lot of changing in my various stories to suit other people and most of the time the story sounds better. I guess this has to be for an amateur writer and probably is the best for the amateur as they are learning. However, does this process turn the story into one by the publisher instead of by the author? Another question: How can the publisher/editor know for a fact that the author’s writings won’t sell or be accepted out there by the public in the state they are in in the final draft?

I guess it’s just one of those things a person can’t fight because there’s no way to win the battle.

About lprobinson64

I have been writing short stories for 25 years and am now working on my first novel. Besides writing, I love to read a great variety of genres with crime/mystery/fantasy being at the top. Dean Koontz is my favorite author, but there are so many more I can't list them all. I also like to crochet, sew, and do many kinds of crafts. Being a retired school teacher sure helps me find the time for all my favorite activities. Can't understand why people don't like retirement. It is a good time to follow a new dream.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How much of Your writing is gone after a publisher/editor critiques for you?

  1. I write non-fiction and it’s subject to every bit as much massaging and revision — maybe more? — as fiction. My new book came back to me with the request that I revise Chapters 1-10 (of 12.) Are you kidding me?! I did it. The book is a lot stronger, has a better shape and the good reviews are fantastic.

    It’s really about trust, yours in them and their judgment, and that’s foundational to any writing relationship, with your agent and your editor(s.) If you truly think your work can’t be improved, I’m not sure that’s such a good sign. Yes, publishing is always a crapshoot. But people who read for a living read more (and better) work than most of us combined. If we can’t trust their judgment to some degree, why work with them?

    http://malledthebook.com/

    • lprobinson64 says:

      I like your answer and know all of that is true. Trust — that’s what it amounts to. I trusted an editor who rejected my inspirational romance. I started editing my novel again and learned quickly that she knew what she was talking about. By book is getting better, but it’s taking a long time. Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

